ace of each suit from a pack of tarot cards, made into jigsaw pieces on a black background

The Minor Arcana in Tarot: Understanding the Everyday Cards

A Standard Tarot Deck consists of 78 Tarot Cards.

The Major Arcana consists of 22 cards and are often considered the most powerful cards in the tarot deck. They represent the major archetypes and universal themes of life.

The 56 cards of the Minor Arcana represent the everyday themes and patterns in our lives, such as work, relationships, and daily challenges.

The Minor Arcana is divided into four suits: Cups, Pentacles, Swords, and Wands.

Each suit corresponds to one of the four natural elements: water, earth, air, and fire.

ace of cups rider waite tarot card on a black background


Cups correspond to water, representing emotions, intuition, and the subconscious mind. The cards in this suit can indicate emotional experiences, relationships, and feelings. For example, the Two of Cups represents a union of two hearts, while the Ten of Cups represents emotional fulfillment and happiness.

ace of pentacles rider waite tarot card on a black background


Pentacles correspond to earth, representing materiality, stability, and groundedness. The cards in this suit can indicate practical and material matters, such as work, finances, and health. For example, the Three of Pentacles represents teamwork and collaboration, while the Ten of Pentacles represents material success and financial security.


ace of swords rider waite tarot card on a black background


Swords correspond to air, representing the mind, communication, and the intellect. The cards in this suit can indicate thoughts, decisions, and communication. For example, the Two of Swords represents a difficult decision, while the Ten of Swords represents the end of a difficult situation.


ace of wands rider waite tarot card on a black background


Wands correspond to fire, representing passion, creativity, and the will. The cards in this suit can indicate inspiration, spiritual growth, and personal development. For example, the Two of Wands represents a new opportunity.

Understanding the meanings behind the Minor Arcana and the and relationships between the cards, can help you to connect with and understand your Tarot cards. Many of the Tarot decks, although they may have different images and styles, are still based around the 78 card system. The 4 Suits of Minor Arcana will also usually correspond to the same elements and meanings.

If you are unsure if your Tarot deck uses this corresponding system, check the Tarot guidebook that came supplied with your Tarot deck.

If you would like a brief introduction to the Major arcana, check out our blog post here.

Do you have anything to add? Let us know in the comments section!

 * If you are looking for tarot cards, check out our range here.

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.